www.structural.de > 3D-Printing



Structural assessment of 3d printed functional parts

 


3D printing in FFF / FDM technology with plastic material is now affordable for everybody. The question arises, weather those 3d printed parts may be used as parts of load-bearing structures, especially for small structures in fair trade stalls, event construction, membrane constructions, in larger artwork, decorations, or for museum furnuture. Here quite often is a need for small unique joints and connectors, which are not available in the market. Forces are mostly low, and life time is often restricted to some weeks or month, which allows to ignore most considerations about environmental exposition, creeping and aging of the plastic material.
structural.de works since January 2018 at FEA based and methodically sound design methods for such parts. In litarature and research, not many results are published yet. Serios filament manufacturers like Ultimaker, Polymaker or Formfutura do issue data sheets with tensile strength values, but all those values are tested in XY plane, means in printing layer directions. Data tested perpenducular to the layer planes, i.e in Z-direction, are not available. Only few companies, e.g. Stratasys and Polymaker, have published its strength values for Z-direction as well.



Standing printed specimen for tension test of ultimate Z-stresses

It is widely known, that the tensile strenght in Z-direction perpendicular to the printing layer plane is often much less than the one in XY-direction. 3d-printed parts in FFF / FDM plastic technology show a very clear orthotropic behaviour. The problem is, that many functional parts have stresses in many directions, and it is only in few situations possible to turn the part so that major stresses run in the plane of the 3d printing process. So, we must live with the fact that major stresses will most likely occur also in Z direction, even if we try to optimize and even if we do the design stress check in FEA with different stress limits according to the direction.So, the limit stress in Z-direction will finally determine the usability of a material for load-bearing functional parts. 



Test device for small tension tests up to 2 kN


Therefore, hpl structural has done quite a lot of tensile strength tests for many different filament types in both XY direction and in Z direction. From the 5% quantils, we derived limit stresses for FEA based analysis methodes, based on typical safety factors used for plastic material. The tests focused on materials which are easy printable with common 3d printers with normal nozzle temperatures up to 280°C. "Rocket-science" high-temperature materials like PEKK and PEEK have been left out. Those materials have, by the way, its advantages especially under high temperature conditions, but are not significantly stronger. Also the promising metal-based laser-melting and laser-sinter methods are still too expensive for our field of activities and had (yet) to be left out. We do test ULTEM 1010 currently, but without further hope of a widespread successfull application of this expensive material in FFF printers. It just prints too ugly, warps too much, and strenght values are just average.
With the ultimate tensile stress obtained from the tensions tests, we are able to design the functional part as STL file, do the structural analysis directly in our Strand7 FEA software, validate the limit design stresses for the particular printer and material with the test specimen, and finally produce the functional part directly on the desktop, at least for test purposes.In this process, those materials turned out to be most promising, which are easy to print, have a good melting behaviour, stick nicely to the printing bed, have a good layer-to-layer adhesion, show no warping - and - most important - show a ductile behavour (plasticity) before breaking.

In terms of tensile stresses and ductility, we were very pleased with 

Polymaker PolyMAX PLA (Base: PLA) (as all PLA restricted to room temperature conditions)

Polymaker PolyMide (Copolymer PA 6 / PA 6.6 „Nylon“)(indoor and outdoor use) 

Both
materials are very ductile at least in its XY printing plane and have a relatively low difference between the tensile stress limits in XY directions vs. Z-direction. Interestingly enough,good printability turned out as a sign for good layer adhesion and good Z-.strength.

But also the following fiber reinforced materials have impressed us, since they are very stiff (high Elastic Modulus) and have a very high tensile strenght in XY-direction:

3DXTech CarbonX
Nylon CF, rigid.ink Carbonyte and DSM novamid 1030 CF (Carbon fiber filled Polyamid)

Owens Corning / XStrand  GF30PA6 (Glass fiber filled Polyamid)

fiberthree F3 PA CF pro (Carbon fiber filled Polyamid) - with also a very good Z-strenght


Those materials did not only show high stiffness and a very hight tensile strength in XY-direchtion, but also surprised with a very low warping even with 100% infill, which favourites them for high-performance parts acting like a plate.  

But even with those high-quality materials, and considering the common safety factors for plastic given by literature, the magnitude of the usable stresses is only about the same as of timber (5..16 MPa; SLS). This is admittingly not very much, but consider - you have a material without limits in geometry, and you can produce the part right now on the desktop!
     

Small 20mm² test specimen as STL-File

Test results  of 20mm² small specimen (Filament tensile strength results)

Filament manufacturers or users of filaments suitable for load-bearing functional parts: Please feel free to send printed specimen (use STL file linked above) of your filament (minium 5 specimen in XY plane printed, minium 5 specimen in Z-direction printed) to hpl structural. Infill: 100% at +- 45 Degrees.;  Bottom and Top Layer: 1 Layer. Edges: 1 Line. Nozzle diameter 0,4 mm. We will test the specimen and add the results to the table.


Small Specimen for strength tests



A very interesting alternative to plastic is the idea of 3d printed parts used as models for metal casting. Even with common cast aluminum alloys, the usable tensile stresses raise up to 10 times the value of the plastic part. And - for aluminum, the Eurocode 9 (DIN EN 1999) gives the engineer an officialy acknowledged code of practice for all the design work, also for large load bearing structures. All the known problems with plastics like aging, temperature and UV light exposition and  creeping are simultaneously vanished. For this reason, hpl structural tests a handy technology chain in cooperation with a local foundry. 

Our present design method results for the plastics in a quite low usable stress level, due to the required safety factors for plastic and the limits of the material. The distance of the usable stresses to the breaking stresses is quite high. Therefore, we expect only a very low influence of creeping and aging for our purposes, as long as the ambient temperature is significantly lower than the vicat temperature of the plastic. To back this theses, we started middle term loading tests with typical stress levels of 5 MPa for periods of one to three month, the typical load duration times for fairground and event structures.

A second test device allowing tension forces up to 20 kN will help to verify the theory at test part which are similiar in shape and size to the real structural part



Second test device for tension stress tests up to 20 kN

structural.de uses the following printers for the test specimen and functional test part:

- Malyan M200 / Primacreator P120 with BuildTak printbed for small PLA and PETG parts
- FelixTec4 Dual Extruder (
www.felixprinters.com ) with BuildTak printbed for PLA; PETG an non-problematic PA
- Anycubic i3 Mega with Micro-Swiss wear-resistant nozzles and Ahltec Carbon Fiber printbed for fiber-reinforced polyamide
- Anycubic i3 Mega with Zortrax M200 Perforated Printbed for all strongly-warping, adhesion-problematic materials
- Anycubic Chiron for large-scale demonstration models in PLA
- CreatBot F160 (Peek version) with perforated GFK board + Polysmooth, see below) and chamber heating for high-temperature materials  

By the way - how we print ULTEM:
ULTEM seems to adhere to nothing. ULTEM does not even stick to PEI, though it is PEI. Here one possible way to succeed:  Get a perforated glass-fiber (GR4) board from
www.digikey.com . The type you need is Twin Industries 7100-1010. The boards have the size of 254 mm x 254 mm x 1,76 mm and can be lasercut to fit to your printers printbed.  Sand the boards with fine sanding paper and clean with alcohol afterwards. Then, put them into your printer as printbed and level nicely.  Then, print a thin layer (e.g. 0,2 mm) with Polymaker´s "Polysmooth" full area as a binder layer. Choose extrusion multiplier in your slicer larger than 1 (1,25..1,5) in order to extrude enough material which will fill the perfroation holes. The perforation filled with filament will greatly improve the adhesion to the perforated board. Then, level the printbed again very carefully and rather sharp for the surface of the Polysmooth layer. Your printer is now ready to print ULTEM (if he is able to reach 375°C at the nozzle). We experienced superior adhesion for ULTEM 1010 by 3DXtech with 375°C nozzle temperature and 90° bed temperature with 20 mm/s speed in the  CreatBotF160 printer, which we improved a bit: The parts cooler (not needed for Nylon and PEI) was redirected to cool the extruder stepper motor instead of the part.  Works great at least for our small specimen objects!  The finished part can be cut off the bed with a good knife. After some prints, the perforated board must be cleaned totally with alcohol to get rid of the Polysmooth and can be prepared again.


- 2019 -



 

  zurück zu: www.structural.de

www.structural.de > 3D-Druck


Festigkeit 3D-gedruckter Bauteile - Bemessung als tragendes Teil

 



Deltabohrungsfutter mit Kulisse und Test-Bolzen

Mit der aufkommenden und für jedermann erschwinglichen FDM / FFF – 3D-Druck-Technik stellt sich die Frage, ob 3D-gedruckte Teile auch als tragende Bauteile eingesetzt werden können. Insbesondere bei Messe und Event, Membranbauten, für Kunstwerke und Museumsausstattungen gibt es öfters die Erfordernis, kleine besonders geformte lastabtragende  Verbindungsmittel individuell zu erstellen, die am Markt nicht erhältlich sind und auch nur als Einzelstück oder in sehr kleinen Stückzahlen benötigt werden. Die wirkenden Kräfte in solchen Bauteilen sind meist gering. Für Bühnenbild, Messen und Events sind auch die erforderlichen Bauteillebensdauern auf wenige Wochen bis Monate beschränkt, so dass Alterungs- und Kriechprozesse der  Kunststoffe weitgehend vernachlässigt werden können.
structural.de arbeitet seit Januar 2018 an derartigen Anwendungen an einer methodisch abgesicherten, FEM-basierten Bauteilbemessung. Wir haben dabei festgestellt, dass es dazu erst sehr wenig Literatur oder Forschungsergebnisse gibt. Zwar geben namhafte Filamenthersteller wie Ultimaker, Polymaker oder Formfutura für ihre Filamente Zugfestigkeiten an, aber nur für liegend gedruckte Proben, d.h. für die Festigkeiten in Layerebene. Angaben zur Festigkeit senkrecht zur Layerebene fehlen. Lediglich Stratasys und Polymaker geben für ihre Materialien die Werte in XY- und in Z-Richtung an.



Stehende Testkörper für Zugversuche in Z-Richtung
 
Bekanntermaßen ist die Festigkeit der in FDM-Technologie gedruckten Kunststoffe senkrecht zur Layerebene, in Z-Richtung, deutlich geringer als in der Layerebene. Die 3D-gedruckten Bauteile zeigen also ein ausgeprägt orthotropes Verhalten. In realen Funktionsteilen wird je nach Funktion und Form des Bauteils nicht möglich sein, die Druckrichtung optimal auf die Spannungen auszurichten. Oft sind auch die Spannungen in allen drei Hauptachsen etwa gleich groß. Somit ist klar, dass die maßgebende Kenngröße der Druckmaterialien die Zugfestigkeit in Z-Richtung ist - selbst wenn es gelingt, die Nachweise im FEM-Programm mit individuellen Grenzspannungen für die XY-Richtung und die Z-Richtung zu führen.



Kleines Zugversuchsgerät bis 2 kN

Wir haben deshalb bereits für zahlreiche Filamentmaterialien eigene Zugprüfungen mit der Zugspannung parallel und senkrecht zur Layerebene durchgeführt und daraus Grenzspannungen für die FEM-basierte Bauteilbemessung abgeleitet. Dabei haben wir zunächst die Kunststoffe getestet, die keine besonderen Drucker und keine besonders hohen Temperaturen (also nur bis ca. 280°C) erfordern. Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe wie PEKK und PEEK blieben deshalb bisher außen vor, zumal deren großer Vorteil vor allem in der Hitzebeständigkeit liegt. Auch die vielversprechenden metallischen Laser-Schmelz-Verfahren oder Sinter-Verfahren blieben bisher wegen der (noch) hohen Kosten unberücksichtigt. ULTEM 1010 testen wir gerade, ohne große Hoffnung auf erfolgreiche Verbreitung dieses Materials im FFF-Druck. Dafür druckt es sich zu schwierig, wölbt sich zu stark, und die Festigkeiten sind nur durchschnittlich.
Mit den Werten unserer Zugprüfungen ist es uns möglich, kleine Bauteile als Volumenmodell aus dem STL-File direkt im FEM-Programm zu berechnen, die Grenzspannungen für den verwendeten Drucker und das verwendete Material selbst zu validieren, und das identische Volumenmodell für Testzwecke als 3D-Druck herzustellen. Das Nachweiskonzept beruht also auf herstellungsidentischen und bauteilähnlichen Prüfkörpern, an denen Zugversuche vorgenommen werden. Bisher haben sich die Kunststoffe als besonders brauchbar erwiesen, die sich gut drucken lassen (gutes Schmelzverhalten, gute Druckbetthaftung, gute Layer-to-Layer-Haftung, geringes Verwölben) ein duktiles Verformungsverhalten vor dem Bruch aufweisen
Die besten Erfahrungen im Sinne der Zugfestigkeiten haben wir bisher mit den folgenden Materialien gemacht:
- Polymaker PolyMAX PLA
(Basis: PLA) (als PLA eingeschränkt auf Anwendungen bei Raumtemperatur)
- Polymaker PolyMide (Copolymer PA 6 / PA 6.6 „Nylon“) (innen und außen uneingeschränkt einsetzbar)     
Beide Materialien sind zumindest in Layerrichtung sehr duktil und haben einen relativ geringen Unterschied der Zugfestigkeit parallel zum Layer vs. senkrecht zum Layer. Interessanterweise war gute Druckbarkeit immer auch ein Anzeiger für gute Layer-to-Layer-Haftung und damit für gute Z-Festigkeiten.

 Aber auch die faserverstärkten Werkstoffe haben uns mit ihren hohen Steifigkeiten und hohen Festigkeiten in XY -Richtung beeindruckt:      
 -  3DXTech CarbonX Nylon CF, rigid.ink Carbonyte und DSM novamid 1030 CF (carbonfaserverstärktes Polyamid)   -   Owens Corning/XStrand GF30PA6 (glasfaserverstärktes Nylon)
    
 -    fiberthree F3 PA CF pro (carbonfaserverstärktes Nylon) - mit sehr guten Z-Festigkeiten


Die faserverstärkten Polyamide haben nicht nur erstaunlich hohe Zugfestigkeiten in XY-Richtung, sie drucken sich auch extrem wölbarm selbst bei 100% Infill und eignen sich so für hoch biegebeanspruchte plattenförmige Bauteile. 
 Dennoch muss einschränkend festgestellt werden, dass auch mit diesen hochwertigen Werkstoffen nach Berücksichtigung der für Kunststoffe üblichen Sicherheitsfaktoren nur eine nutzbare Zugfestigkeit in der Größenordnung der Zugfestigkeit von Holz in Faserrichtung (5..16 MPa; SLS) erreicht werden kann. Dafür sind aber der Bauteilgeometrie kaum Grenzen gesetzt, und die Fertigung erfolgt am Schreibtisch.   

    
Kleiner 20mm²-Prüfkörper als STL-File    
                     
Ergebnisse unserer Tests  an 20mm²-Kleinprüfkörpern (Zugfestigkeiten der Filamente)


Filamenthersteller oder Anwender:  Sie können uns gerne gedruckte Prüfkörper (bitte dazu die oben verlinkte STL-Datei verwenden) zusenden. Wir testen die Prüfkörper und ergänzen die Ergebnistabelle um Ihr Filament. Bitte mindestens 5 Prüfkörper in XY-Ebene (liegend) drucken und mindestens weitere 5 Prüfkörper in Z-Richtung (stehend). Infill: 100% auf +-45° gelegt; Schichtdicke: 0,2 mm;   Unterer Layer und oberer Layer je 1 Layer;  eine Randschicht außen. Nozzle-Durchmesser 0,4 mm.


Kleinversuchskörper zum Bestimmen der Festigkeiten

Eine interessante Alternative zum Kunststoff ergibt sich, wenn man die 3D-gedruckten Modelle nicht direkt verwendet, sondern als Form für den Metallguss verwendet. Schon die Verwendung üblicher Aluminiumgußlegierungen würde die ausnutzbare Festigkeit in etwa verzehnfachen. Zudem ist dann auch eine bauaufsichtlich eingeführte Bemessungsnorm vorhanden, der Eurocode 9. Alterungserscheinungen, Umweltexposition und Kriechen würden sofort bedeutungslos. Hier gibt es bereits einfache und handhabbare Technologieketten.

Aus unserem Bemessungsmodell ergibt sich nach Einrechnen der erforderlichen Sicherheitsfaktoren für Kunststoffe ein deutlicher Abstand der Gebrauchsspannung zur Bruchspannung. Deshalb spielt das Kriechverhalten der Kunststoffe nur eine geringe Rolle, sofern die .Umgebungstemperaturen nicht die Erweichungstemperatur des Kunststoffes erreichen. Zum Absichern dieser These laufen derzeit Belastungsversuche über einsatztypische Zeiten für Messe und Event von einem bis bis zu drei Monaten.

Für die Tests an bauteilähnlichen größeren Prüfkörpern haben wir ein zweites Prüfgerät gebaut, welches Prüfkräfte bis 20 kN erlaubt.



Mittelgroßes Versuchsgerät für Zugkräfte bis  zu 20 kN

structural.de will nicht in die 3D-Fertigung einsteigen.  Aber alleine für die Herstellung der Versuchskörper und für das Erlangen praktischer Erfahrungen sind eigene Drucker unverzichtbar. Wir verwenden die folgenden Drucker, um Prüfkörper und Testmodell zu erzeugen:

- Malyan M200 / Pimacreator P120 mit BuildTak Druckbett für PLA und PETG
- FelixTec4 Dual Extruder (siehe www.felixprinters.com ) mit BuildTak Druckbett für PLA, PETG, gutmütiges PA und Drucke mit gesondertem Stützmaterial
- Anycubic i3 Mega mit Micro-Swiss verschleißfesten Nozzles und Ahltec Carbonfaser-Druckbett für faserverstärktes PA
- Anycubic i3 Mega mit Zortrax M200 Perforated Plate als Druckbett für besonders wölbfreudige Filamente
- Anycubic Chiron mit perforierter GFK-Platte von Ahltec für große Anschauungsmodelle aus PLA und PETG
- CreatBot F160 (PEEK Version) mit mit Zortrax M200 Perforated Plate als Druckbett (fallweise auch GFK+Polysmooth siehe unten) und Bauraumheizung für Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe

Nebenbei der Tipp für 3D-Druck-Masochisten - wie wir ULTEM (PEI) drucken:

ULTEM haftet praktisch an  keiner üblichen Druckbettoberfläche. ULTEM haftet noch nicht mal an PEI-beschichteten Platten, obwohl es auch PEI ist.  Hier ein möglicher Weg:  Bei
www.digikey.com eine perforierte GFK-Platte bestellen vom Typ Twin Industries 7100-1010. Die Platten sind 254 mmx 254 mm x 1,76 mm groß und können auf das benötigte Maß des Druckbettes des Druckers zugesägt werden.  Die Platten werden mit Sandpapier leicht angeschliffen und mit Spiritus gesäubert. Danach werden sie als Druckbett eingebaut, nivelliert und großflächig mit einem Layer (z.B. 0,2 mm) Polymaker "Polysmooth" als Binderlayer bedruckt. Möglichst im Slicer den Extrusion Multiplier größer 1 (1,25..1,5) wählen, damit das Überschussmaterial in die Bohrungen der perforierten Platte eindringen kann. Nur durch diesen Formschluss hält der Binderlayer sicher. Danach die Platte neu nivellieren und mit ULTEM losdrucken. ULTEM hält auf Anhieb an Polysmooth selbst bei moderaten Bett-temperaturen um die 70..90°C. Ein Brim ist natürlich trotzdem anzuraten. Das Abtrennen nach dem Erkalten   funktioniert mit einem starken Messer. Nach ein paar Drucken ist die Polysmooth-Schicht allerdings hinüber und kann dann mit Alkohol (Brennspiritus) vom GFK komplett abgewaschen werden. Das ULTEM 1010 von 3DXtech drucken wir so mit 375°C Nozzle und 90° Bett im CreatBotF160, dessen Bauteillüfter wie so ausgerichtet haben, dass er den Extrudermotor statt des Bauteils kühlt. Funktioniert sehr gut zumindest für unseren kleinen Prüfkörper.


- 2019 -



 

 zurück zu: www.structural.de